Tags

, , , , , , ,

The weather the past few days—sunny and warm(er), in the upper 30s and even low 40s—has finally convinced me that spring is coming. It’s been an unusually cold winter in the northeast of North America, and very snowy, but still I’ve noticed the infinitesimal changes that herald spring: the scent of fox mating pheromones, birds such as the chickadee shifting to their summer songs, skunks emerging from hibernation. But as sure as spring is, winter is tenacious. We walk outside in paths my spouse shoveled; the chickens often lose their way from one place to another, being too short to see over the snow. Today, I saw dirt on our road for the first time since December. It felt like Aslan was in the neighborhood. So since those of us in the snowy north have some winter yet to get through, I figured I’d compile a group of photos to remind me of winter’s beauty.

But first, that is dirt on my road! Unfortunately, that means Mud Season is on its way.

But first, that is dirt on my road! Unfortunately, that means Mud Season is on its way.

A dusting; early winter.

A dusting; early winter.

Snowdrifts on a very cold day.

Snowdrifts on a very cold day.

Frida and Artemisia explore beyond the coop.

Frida and Artemisia explore beyond the coop.

Milkweed.

Milkweed.

Apple tree surrounded by pines.

Apple tree surrounded by pines.

Snow makes Angela's beautiful black and red look really pop!

Snow makes Angela’s beautiful black and red look really pop!

Beautiful ice from the storm that knocked out our power for a week. That storm was the most expensive Vermont has ever had, even more so than Irene.

Beautiful ice from the storm that knocked out our power for a week. That storm was the most expensive Vermont has ever had, even more so than Irene.

Queen Anne's Lace. I love the stark beauty of flowers in winter.

Queen Anne’s Lace. I love the stark beauty of flowers in winter.

Winter also means cozy cats.

Winter also means cozy cats. Let us not forget.

How have you kept yourself going this winter?

