Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Buffy hustles (for once).

Buffy hustles (for once).

What a week it’s been! I grew up not too far from Boston–Boston was the first city I knew. My favorite birthday activity was a picnic on the Common, watching the swan boats. And I am still a Red Sox fan, though in a somewhat nominal way–as a kid, though, I knew everyone in the starting lineup. I knew the players’ odd habits and superstitions (Wade Boggs and his chicken!). I had an official cap and a pennant from ’86, and was just as disappointed as my dad that Boston didn’t win the World Series that year.

Every Patriots’ Day, my family used to get together with close friends and watch the Boston Marathon. I loved shouting encouragement at the runners–my favorite was the guy with the Viking helmet. Then we’d finish the day off with a meal for the whole lot of us, about 15-20 people in all.

So, like many others, I was shocked and dismayed that such a fun tradition was targeted by terrorists of whatever stripe. Scary stories and images–even when I don’t know any of the places or people involved–tend to get their hooks in my brain. Let me tell you, if I could cook and feed the other people whose brains are also hooked, maybe I’d snap out of it faster. But for me, living 3 hours from friends in Boston, feeding people isn’t an option.

Luckily, getting outside is. I took my worries and fear to the chickens, to the ponds, and to the woods, and they gave me  comfort and peace. Even the struggles of animals–the chickadees who fought over who got the next seeds from my hand and the male frogs who struggled to be the one to fertilize a certain female’s eggs–only lifted me up. Their struggles are so innocent in light of the cruelty of humans.

Here’s some of what I saw this week that made me happy. I hope it’ll make you happy, too.

Coltsfoot

Coltsfoot.

Glory of the snow

Glory of the snow.

Sasha and Malia are sure I have treats for them.

Sasha and Malia are sure I have treats for them.

 

Daffodils poised to bloom.

Daffodils poised to bloom.

Bloodroot.

Bloodroot.

All the chickens, and my shadow.

All the chickens, and my shadow.

Someone's been dust-bathing--looks like ruffed grouse.

Someone’s been dust-bathing–looks like ruffed grouse.

Wood frog eggs.

Wood frog eggs.

Crayfish.

Crayfish.

A roiling ball of froggy love. In amplexus, a single female frog is usually clasped by many male frogs, all competing to fertilize her eggs.

A roiling ball of froggy love. In amplexus, a single female frog is usually clasped by many male frogs, all competing to fertilize her eggs.

This black baldy looks suspicious, but she's really just friendly.

This black baldy looks suspicious, but she’s really just friendly.

A tinge of green returns to the Wedding Hill.

A tinge of green returns to the Wedding Hill.

Budding hawthorn.

Budding hawthorn.

Here’s hoping you find life and joy in your neighborhood park or your own yard this weekend.

Peace.

