Tags

, , , , ,

Yum!

Yum!

Truth is, Tim and I eat meatless most of the time, for reasons of good health, finances, and reducing our carbon footprint. But lately I’ve been making the extra effort of keeping meals vegan if at all possible, since dairy has its own considerable carbon footprint. Now that it’s winter, our hens aren’t laying, so eggs are in short supply as well. Besides, I like the challenge.

I made up this soup at lunchtime recently to use up leftover wild rice. But it ended up being so good that I wouldn’t hesitate to cook up some wild rice just for the purpose of this soup. I chose the curried carrot flavors because I was craving the vitamins in the carrots and the warming effect of the curry. (When I lived in Oxford, England, the corner shop was post office, newsagent, and grocery store in one. If I came into the shop sniffling, the Pakistani owner, who was also my next-door neighbor, always recommended that I eat more curry. I took his advice, and have been getting colds a lot less often than I used to.)

Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups vegetable stock, a little extra if needed
  • 2 large carrots (or 4 medium), diced
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 2 cups cooked wild rice

Heat the oil in a medium saucepan; add the onion and sauté for 4 or 5 minutes, then add the garlic and cook another minute or so. Add the stock, carrots, and curry powder; bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for about 10 minutes. Add the cooked wild rice and simmer for another 10 minutes. The carrots should be al dente.

This simple recipe could be made with just about any variety of leftover rice, but the wild rice gives it such a nutty flavor. Same with the oil: you could use just about any oil, but the nutty flavor of toasted sesame melds really well with the curry.

